Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

COM Dean Announcement

Dean, College of Medicine

The University of Illinois at Chicago has concluded its search for the next Dean of the University of Illinois College of Medicine. Please see announcement information below.

If you have any questions, please contact the search coordinator, Margaret Moser, at

Dear Faculty, Staff and Students,

It is my pleasure to announce the appointment of Mark Rosenblatt, MD, PhD, MBA as the next Dean of the University of Illinois College of Medicine, pending approval by the University of Illinois Board of Trustees, effective March 16, 2019.

I would like to thank the search committee, co-chaired by Dean Karen Colley and Dr. Terry Vanden Hoek, for their outstanding work during the extensive vetting and interview process for all of the candidates. Further, I thank all members of the campus and College of Medicine community for their participation in the campus interviews and for providing feedback on the finalists for this position.

Currently, Dr. Rosenblatt serves as the Illinois Lions/Charles I. Young Chair, Professor, and Head of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the University of Illinois College of Medicine Chicago.

Dr. Rosenblatt is an internationally recognized clinician-scientist.  As Director of the Corneal Regenerative Medicine Laboratory, he leads groups of scientists investigating the mechanism of corneal peripheral nerve regeneration following injury, and the use of nanoengineered biomaterials for use in stem cell delivery to the ocular surface. His work in regenerative medicine has been funded by the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense, Research to Prevent Blindness, the Falk Family Foundation, and the Tri-Institutional Stem Cell Initiative. Dr. Rosenblatt has published widely, including over 150 original manuscripts, review articles, book chapters, and abstracts.

Dr. Rosenblatt is a graduate of the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine’s Honors Program in Medical Education and the Combined MD/PhD program, receiving Alpha Omega Alpha honors. He completed his ophthalmology residency and combined clinical/research fellowship in corneal disease at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary/Harvard Medical School. Prior to his arrival at UIC, Dr. Rosenblatt was a faculty member in the Department of Ophthalmology at Weill Cornell Medical College, where he served as the department’s Vice Chair and as Director of the Margaret M. Dyson Vision Research Institute. Dr. Rosenblatt also completed his MBA at New York University’s Stern School.

I am confident that Dr. Rosenblatt will be an outstanding leader for the University of Illinois College of Medicine, having the innovative skills and experience necessary to lead across all domains of the college – education, research, clinical care, community engagement and philanthropy. He will be a great addition to the regional deans in Peoria, Rockford and Urbana, as well as the broader group of deans at UIC.

Please join me in thanking Dr. Charles Ray for his steadfast leadership as Interim Dean of the college. We have been fortunate to have had such an experienced and knowledgeable leader step into this role, and I very much appreciate his hard work and dedication to steering the college while we conducted this search.


Robert A. Barish, MD, MBA
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs


Search Committee Co-chairs

Karen Colley, PhD
Dean of the Graduate College
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Terry L. Vanden Hoek, MD FACEP
Professor & Head, Department of Emergency Medicine
Interim Chief Medical Officer, University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System (UI Health)
Professor, Physiology & Biophysics
Director, Program for Emergency Cardiovascular Care
Center for Cardiovascular Research & Center for Global Health

Search Committee Members

Dr. Scott Brady Mary Jo LaDu, PhD
UIC Distinguished Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology, College of Medicine Chicago Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology, College of Medicine Chicago
James T. Bui, MD Pauline M. Maki, PhD
Associate Professor of Radiology & Medicine, College of Medicine Chicago; Chief, Division of Interventional Radiology and President, Medical Staff, University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System Professor of Psychiatry and Psychology, College of Medicine Chicago
Gillian Coombs Joan Marc
Director of Faculty Affairs, College of Medicine Third-year Medical Student, College of Medicine Chicago
Pedro A. de Alarcón, MD Heather M. Prendergast MD, MS, MPH
William H. Albers Professor and Head of Pediatrics, College of Medicine Peoria Assistant Dean of Inpatient Clinical Affairs, Vice Chair of Academic Affairs, and Professor of Emergency Medicine, College of Medicine Chicago
Evelyn Figueroa, MD Mark M. Rasenick, PhD
Assistant Dean of Outpatient Clinical Affairs; Program Director of the Family Medicine Residency and Associate Professor of Clinical Family Medicine, College of Medicine Chicago Distinguished Professor of Physiology & Biophysics and Psychiatry, College of Medicine Chicago and Jesse Brown VA Medical Center
Janet A. Jokela, MD, MPH, FACP, FIDSA Damiano Rondelli, MD
Acting Regional Dean and Professor of Clinical Medicine, College of Medicine Urbana Michael Reese Professor of Hematology and Chief, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Department of Medicine; Assoc. Director for Global Partnerships, UIC Center for Global Health, College of Medicine Chicago Director, Blood & Marrow Transplant, University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System
Ramaswamy Kalyanasundaram, DVM, PhD Sara L. Rusch, MD, MACP
Head of Biomedical Sciences; Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine Rockford Regional Dean and Professor of Clinical Medicine, College of Medicine Peoria
Linda M Kaste, DDS, MS, PhD Alex Stagnaro-Green, MD, MHPE, MHA
Professor, UIC College of Dentistry Regional Dean and Professor of Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology and Medical Education, College of Medicine Rockford
George T. Kondos, MD Peggy J. Wheeler, MD
Professor and Vice Chair of Medicine, College of Medicine Chicago James M. Feld Professor of Anesthesiology, College of Medicine Chicago

Search Committee Staff

Margaret Moser
Executive Director, VCHA Administration & Operations
Office of the Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs